Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Britain getting Screwed
This one's for Gordi.

Many years ago when I worked in the newspaper business in the important editorial role
of cleaning toilets and taking out the rubbish, one of the things that would help pass the
time -as I wheeled the five-foot-something fibreglass bins along each of the four floors
to be put on a crane for the ground-floor, was the bin's contents.

In all the usual crap that comes with working in an office, were sheaves and sheaves of
documents about all sorts of events, new products, political announcements and other
relevant information that had not yet reached the public's ears.

This was before email and the internet, a time when mammoths still roamed many towns.
This stuff was mailed in and then after being copied, subtly altered for localisation and even
structured for a certain commentary, would begin the process of becoming a column or two
in a newspaper.

Pushing those wheeled-bins in the hours before the sun came up, I would read stuff about
a brand launch or Government announcement and show a puzzled frown at the words
printed across the top of the pages. 'Embargoed Until...'

It didn't make sense -I'd think, as I chained the bins up and began to lower them down
into a dark alleyway ready for their journey to the small building across the way. Why send
an article out and state that the information shouldn't be released until a demanded time?

This question would nudge me frequently as I dragged the individual receptacles over the
place known as the Bailing Shed where the rubbish would be crushed pneumatically in a machine
and turned into bales.
Then it finally hit me.

Everything at the front-end of revealing a product or an event would have to ready before the
people would come, of course!!
It's no use sending the information out on the day of the presentation or announcement because
apart from television (and their stuff gets embargoed too) because any impact would be wasted